February 1, 2023


Story of the Day

5 K-Pop Groups Disbanded in 2022: Everything You Need To Know

5 min read

The world of K-pop is complicated. Kpop idols’ lives are quite serious, from becoming students very early on to at long last debuting before millions. At the time of their debut, most of these Kpop groups signed contracts with their management label. A significant number of these Kpop group’s contacts have ended in 2022.

It’s never easy to bid farewell, particularly to your #1 K-pop group. While there are numerous new K-pop groups in the K-pop industry and artists to root for in 2022, there are also some groups that fans have to say goodbye to. Here is a list of all those K-pop groups that have disbanded in 2022.

These Kpop groups will be remembered fondly by fans all over the world, whether they are project groups that are formed by Korean idol competition shows or veteran K-pop groups that have been in the k-pop industry for a long time. From G-reyish to HOT ISSUE many k-pop groups have ended their official contracts with their respective agency.

K-Pop Groups Disbanded

1. G-reyish


G-reyish was a four-member girl group under the Big Ocean ENM Agency. The group was formed by Hyuk And Company, The group officially debuted on 1st June 2017 with the single named “Turn Back Time”. The group consist of Hyeji (Main Vocalist, Visual) Hyunseo (Vocalist) Shinyoung (Main Rapper, Lead Dancer, Vocalist) Yena (Main Dancer, Lead Rapper, Vocalist, Center) Yeso (Lead Vocalist, Maknae).

On Tuesday, 31st May 2022, Big Ocean ENM reported, through the g-reyish fan cafe, that the group have decided to end their exclusive contract and all the members of g-reyish have decided to part ways. Moreover, they stated that the activity of the G-reyish’s fan cafe would be ended on 16th June 2022 as the group activities have concluded.

We would like to give an announcement in regards to group G-reyish’s future activities. We would like to inform you that after enough discussion with the group members, it has been decided to end the group activities and end their contracts with Big Ocean ENM,” they said.

2. CLC


CLC was a girl group under Cube Entertainment known for their popular song Helicopter. Initially, they debuted as a five-member group, they debuted on 19th March 2015, with their first album named First Love. In February 2016, the group added two new members which are Elkie and Eunbin to the group making the group a seven-member group. On 20th May 2022, Cube declared that the CLC’s official activities have ended and that their U CUBE fansite will be ended on 6th June 2022.

Despite reaching worldwide success with famous songs, like “Devil,” “Hobgoblin,” and “Me,” CLC slowed down their promotions in 2020, while several members of the group began doing their things. In February 2021, Elkie decided to left the group due to a contract dispute with the Cube agency. Before long, Sorn, Seungyeon, and Yeeun left Cube, while Yujin competed in the girl group survival show and debuted with Kep1er in January 2022.

In May, Cube confirmed the news, saying: “We might want to stretch out our most profound appreciation to every one of you for continuously cherishing and supporting CLC throughout recent years. As CLC’s official activities have finished, we might want to inform you that the activity regarding CLC U CUBE will be ended as of June 6, 2022.



APRIL was a girl group under DSP Media. They debuted on 24th August 2015, with their mini-album named Dreaming. On 28th January 2022, DSP Media announced the group had officially disbanded following being active for 6 years in the k-pop industry and the agency also informed that the members have decided to part ways.

APRIL debuted on August 24, 2015, with a line-up of six members which includes: Somin, Chaewon, Hyunjoo, Naeun, Yena, and Jinsol. During the group’s dynamic years, they had a change of line-up following Somin and Hyunjoo’s departure from the group.

They were replaced with Chaekyung and Rachel. In 2021, the group faced a major backlash from the Korean people as Hyunjoo and her family claimed that she was being bullied by her fellow group members. DSP Media and APRIL denied any bullying allegation against any member of the group and took legal action against Hyunjoo.

Police dropped the defamation lawsuits filed against Hyunjoo the charges against Hyunjoo were dropped because there was no intention to defame the group and also cause there was no proof that Hyunjoo was being bullied by APRIL members. DSP Media announced on January 28, 2022, that APRIL chose to disband after many discussions.


NU’EST was a five-member boy group under Pledis Entertainment. They debuted on 15th March 2012, with their first single named “Face”. Four of the members of the group NU’EST participated in Mnet’s Produce 101 Season 2 in which just Minhyun made the final 11and later become a member of Wanna One. From July 2017 to December 2018, the group was promoted as a four-member group, their sub-unit called NU’EST W.

The group debuted on March 15, 2012, with five members which include JR, Aron, Baekho, Minhyun and Ren. They released their last and final album Needle & Bubble on their 10th anniversary and afterwards disbanded. JR, Aron and Ren left their agency Pledis Entertainment, and Baekho and Minhyun renewed their contracts with them.


HOT ISSUE was a seven-member girl group under S2 Entertainment. They debuted on 28th April 2021, with their first mini-album named Issue Maker. The member of the group includes Nahyun, Mayna, Hyeongshin, Dana, Yewon, Yebin and Dain. Their group name remains as an abbreviation of “Honest, Outstanding and Terrific” + “Issue”. HOT ISSUE was the first girl group to be created by S2 Entertainment, the new agency headed by Cube Entertainment co-founder and former chairman Hong Seung Sung.

On 22nd April 2022, S2 Entertainment announced that the group had disbanded. The group’s agency S2 Entertainment confirmed in April that they would disband after only one year. On September 10, 2021, the group announced their first single album named “Icons”, to be released on September 29.

On September 27, 2021, HOT ISSUE announced their official fandom name “Sure”. An abbreviation for “Surely U (Yours) Refulgently Ever”, the name depicts how HOT ISSUE and their fans will be together for eternity.

Also Read: BTS member’s Net Worth: Everything You Need To Know

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *